Heinevetter left out of German EURO 2016 roster

Heinevetter left out of German EURO 2016 roster

Controversial goalkeeper Silvio Heinevetter has been left out of Germany’s roster for the EHF EURO 2016 in Poland by head coach Dagur Sigurdsson. The charismatic back-stopper of reigning EHF-Cup winner Füchse Berlin will miss a major tournament for the first time since 2010, except for the European championship two years ago in Denmark, when Germany didn’t qualify.

While he still made the 28-men roster, the German handball federation DHB announced today that Carsten Lichtlein of VfL Gummersbach and HSV Wetzlar’s Andreas Wolff are the two first-choice goalkeepers at the moment. It might come as a surprise to those not being familiar with the DKB Handball-Bundesliga, but Heinevetter has even lost his starting job to Czech Petr Stochl recently.

The biggest names on the roster are left-wing Uwe Gensheimer of the Rhein-Neckar Löwen and right-back Steffen Weinhold from THW Kiel. Their clubs, along with the HSG Wetzlar, each send three players to Poland. Paul Drux from the Füchse Berlin made the 28-men roster while recovering from shoulder surgery. Magdeburg’s Finn Lemke might lose his spot in case he comes back in time.

The German roster for the EHF EURO 2016 in Poland:

Goalkeepers: Carsten Lichtlein (VfL Gummersbach), Andreas Wolff (HSG Wetzlar)

Left-wings: Uwe Gensheimer (Rhein-Neckar Löwen), Rune Dahmke (THW Kiel)

Left-backs: Steffen Fäth (HSG Wetzlar), Christian Dissinger (THW Kiel), Finn Lemke (SC Magdeburg)

Playmakers: Martin Strobel (HBW Balingen-Weilstetten), Niclas Pieczkowski (TuS N-Lübbecke), Simon Ernst (VfL Gummersbach)

Right-backs: Steffen Weinhold (THW Kiel), Fabian Wiede (Füchse Berlin)

Right-wings: Patrick Groetzki (Rhein-Neckar Löwen), Tobias Reichmann (KS Vive Tauron Kielce/POL)

Line-players: Hendrik Pekeler (Rhein-Neckar Löwen), Jannik Kohlbacher (HSG Wetzlar), Erik Schmidt (TSV Hannover-Burgdorf)

Reserves: Silvio Heinevetter (Füchse Berlin), Dario Quenstedt (SC Magdeburg), Michael Allendorf (MT Melsungen), Stefan Kneer (Rhein-Neckar Löwen), Julius Kühn (VfL Gummersbach), Paul Drux (Füchse Berlin), Michael Müller (MT Melsungen), Kai Häfner (TSV Hannover-Burgdorf), Johannes Sellin (MT Melsungen), Evgeni Pevnov (VfL Gummersbach), Manuel Späth (Frisch Auf Göppingen)

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Men

EHF CL Men group draw for season 2022/2023

Ibolya SzekeresJuly 1, 2022
THW Kiel

Kiel goes to Cologne after the clash against PSG

Ibolya SzekeresMay 19, 2022
DIka Mem vs Flensburg

Barca in the EHF FINAL4, Flensburg is out

Ibolya SzekeresMay 19, 2022
Andreas Wolff, Germany | Photo: Bjørn Kenneth Muggerud

Kielce earns Final4 ticket to Cologne

Ibolya SzekeresMay 19, 2022

Telekom Veszprém is the first team to reach Cologne

Ibolya SzekeresMay 18, 2022

Veszprem and Kielce with victories in the quarter-finals

Ibolya SzekeresMay 13, 2022