Neagu and Karabatic voted IHF Players of the Year

Neagu and Karabatic voted IHF Players of the Year

Romania’s Cristina Neagu and France’s Nikola Karabatic were voted IHF Players of the Year 2016 by fans, experts and media representatives. For both players, this is the third occasion to sit on the throne of the world.

Cristina Neagu participated at the Olympic Games and the EHF EURO with the Romanian national team. In Rio, they couldn’t reach the quarterfinals and at the EURO, they finished 5th. With her club Buducnost, she finished 4th in the EHF FINAL4. The Romanian superstar was in the All Star Team at the EHF EURO and at the EHF Champions League. She won the IHF Player of the Year award for the second year in a row and for the third time overall (2010, 2015), she is the first female player to achieve both. Nora Mörk finished second while Nycke Groot third.

Nikola Karabatic won silver at the Olympic Games in Rio and finished fifth at the EHF EURO 2016. At the Olympic Games, he was voted to the All Star Team. With his club Paris Saint-Germain, he managed to reach the EHF FINAL4 and came in as bronze medalists of the competition. After 2007 and 2014, this is his third time being crowned.

In the coaches’ competition, Norway’s Thorir Hergeirsson and France’s Didier Dinart were voted to IHF Coaches of the Year 2016.

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Hungarian, handball and travel addict. Always hungry for information about handball and always ready to share these with others.

More in News

SG BBM Bietigheim is the new EHF European League Women champion

Ibolya SzekeresMay 16, 2022
Niklas Landin, Denmark | Photo: Bjørn Kenneth Muggerud

Niklas Landin to Aalborg håndbold

Bjørn Kenneth MuggerudApril 4, 2022
Christian Berge with Sander Sagosen, Norway | Photo: Bjørn Kenneth Muggerud

Christian Berge quit as Norways head coach

Bjørn Kenneth MuggerudFebruary 25, 2022

Brest, Rostov and CSM Bucuresti with victories, Esbjerg take a point from Budapest

Ibolya SzekeresOctober 19, 2021

Rostov, Brest, and FTC with victories – Group A DELO EHF CL

Ibolya SzekeresSeptember 18, 2021

Zsuzsanna Tomori has signed with Vipers

Ibolya SzekeresSeptember 7, 2021