Champions League

2020/21 season: EXEC announced the starting grid

photo: Bjørn Kenneth Muggerud
2020/21 season: EXEC announced the starting grid

All 16 teams for the EHF Champions League Men have been detemined as the EHF Executive Committee reached its decision on the teams taking part in the 2020/21 season.

In the 28th edition of Europe’s premier club competition, a new playing system will be adopted with only 16 teams. They will start the group phase in two groups of eight teams, while Wednesdays and Thursdays have been confirmed as playing days.

Ten teams are registered as national champions with fixed places: HC PPD Zagreb, Aalborg Handbold, Barça, Paris Saint-Germain HB, THW Kiel, SG Flensburg-Handewitt, Telekom Veszprém, HC Vardar 1961, PGE VIVE Kielce and FC Porto Sofarma

Wild cards were requested by 14 teams of which only six requests has been approved for an upgrade , based on the criteria catalog with five different fields (venue, TV, spectators, results in past EHF competitions, product management and digital): HC Meshkov Brest, HBC Nantes, MOL-Pick Szeged, Elverum Handball, RK Celje Pivovarna Lasko and HC Motor

The remaining eight requests were not granted, however the EXEC assigned two teams – Orlen Wisla Plock and Dinamo Bucuresti – as substitution teams for the cases where one or more teams will experience serious difficulties with a proper participation and carrying out of home matches in the group phase due to the consequences of the Covid-19 pandemic.

source: ehf

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Champions League

Hungarian living in Norway with a great passion for handball, primarly women handball. Travels all over the world to follow handball matches and tournaments and to write good articles on this website.

More in Champions League

DELO WOMEN’S EHF FINAL4 – draw for the semifinals

Ibolya SzekeresApril 13, 2021
cska moscow

CSKA Moscow book tickets to Budapest

Ibolya SzekeresApril 11, 2021

Vipers Kristiansand qualified to the DELO Women’s EHF Final4

Ibolya SzekeresApril 11, 2021

Győr in the DELO Women’s EHF Final 4 after victories against Buducnost

Ibolya SzekeresApril 10, 2021

Brest Bretagne reach the DELO Women’s Final4 for the first time

Ibolya SzekeresApril 10, 2021

Vipers defeat Rostov Don in the first leg of the quarter-final

Ibolya SzekeresApril 10, 2021