Champions League

DELO Women CL 2020/21 – final list of participants

photo: EHF
DELO Women CL 2020/21 – final list of participants
Ibolya Szekeres

While the number of the teams remains unchanged in the upcoming season, the 16 participants will start in a group phase with two groups of eight. Also, unlike in the men’s version, the playing days will be scheduled for the weekends like in the past.

Nine teams: Team Esbjerg, Odense Handbold, Győri Audi ETO KC, Metz Handball, Borussia Dortmund, Buducnost, Vipers Kristiansand, SCM Valcea, and Rostov Don – had fixed positions based on the national federations ranking as teams registered as national champions. The Executive Committee members approved all of them and continued with the evaluation of all 12 requests for a wildcard.

Based on a criteria system that looked at different fields including venue, TV, spectators, results in past EHF competitions, product management and digital, the EXEC members confirmed seven requests for upgrades of the EHF European League clubs to the continent’s top flight – CSM Bucuresti, FTC-Rail Cargo Hungaria, Brest Bretagne Handball, CSKA, RK Krim Mercator, HC Podravka Vegeta and SG BBM Bietigheim.

The remaining five requests were not granted, however the EXEC assigned two teams – DHK Banik Most and Storhamar Handball – as substitution teams for the cases where one or more teams will experience serious difficulties with a proper participation and carrying out of home matches in the group phase due to the consequences of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Champions League
Ibolya Szekeres

Hungarian living in Norway with a great passion for handball, primarly women handball. Travels all over the world to follow handball matches and tournaments and to write good articles on this website.

More in Champions League

DELO Women’s EHF Champions League groups draw

Ibolya SzekeresJuly 1, 2020

Velux EHF Champions League Men – groups draw

Ibolya SzekeresJuly 1, 2020


Ibolya SzekeresJune 26, 2020

Bernadette Bódi finish her career in Győr

Ibolya SzekeresJune 24, 2020

Nora Mørk is a Vipers player

Ibolya SzekeresJune 22, 2020

CSKA Moskow newcomer in Champions League

Ibolya SzekeresJune 20, 2020